Jon Krohn, Cajoler of Datums

Advance Praise for Deep Learning Illustrated Textbook

This book has been great for me. — Brandon Hodges on March 13, 2019

This book removes any roadblock you may have when trying to understand the concept of deep learning. So far, a great read! Highly recommend it! — Lana Tayara on December 6, 2019

This title is a great resource for those looking to understand deep learning. The illustrations are helpful and aid in cementing a richer understanding of the content, and the background context surrounding biological motivations for the tools and techniques enables a greater appreciation of the field. I enthusiastically recommend this book to any and all who are interested in the topic of deep learning! — Vince Petaccio on December 6, 2019

GREAT BOOK! — Sarah Y. on December 6, 2019

Great stuff. — Mark Bragg on December 5, 2018

 

In-classroom Deep Learning course at the NYC Data Science Academy

I took NYC Data Science Academy's deep learning course, taught by Jon Krohn. Jon is a terrific teacher, and I would heartily recommend this course! Jon had tremendous enthusiasm and patience for questions while still keeping us on track with the schedule. He really broke things down into bite-size, understandable pieces, while still covering a lot of breadth and depth. I appreciated Jon making available his draft book, this really complemented the lectures. I liked the format of once-a-week lessons because it gave time for concepts to sink in and to practice things with my own data in between sessions. I appreciated that Jon made time to troubleshoot challenges we experienced in our own projects. The course was both a great introduction to concepts and to some of the ways people are applying deep learning; here examples from Jon's day job were valuable. One aspect of the course that was very helpful was that Jon set up a Docker environment for us, and shared very clear instructions for getting our computers set up with it in advance. We were all ready to go from the start. I'm all the more grateful for Jon having set that up after recently spending half of a workshop (run by a different data science academy) wrestling with [setup]. The Jupyter notebooks all just worked, so we could focus on learning.Dr. Ilya Fischhoff on February 3, 2019

The Deep Learning course conducted by Jon offers a great learning experience for people starting with their journey on deep learning. Jon starts with the basics and gradually moves on the advance topics. The topics are shared well in advance so that we can prep ourselves before the class. Jon mixes the intuitiveness and the mathematics on the topic in a balanced way. As part of the course, Jon also encourages everyone to do a project and offers great support. My only piece of constructive criticism (which by the way is not at all a criticism) would that the last class is a bit heavy content wise and hence breaking it down a little would be something to consider. Overall, I would highly recommend this course to someone who wants to start with deep learning.Navin Krishnakumar on December 20, 2018

The Deep Learning course by Jon Krohn at the NYCDSA has been one of the best courses I've taken. With a focus on projects, Jon teaches students the tools they need to create their own deep learning project at any level. When I say at any level I really mean at any level. I'm a biology major originally and printed my first 'hello world' a year ago. Even with my very limited coding and programming background, I was able to complete a deep learning project involving creating my own labeled dataset and a convolutional network classifier… I really appreciated his course structure as he drills in the beginning of class what he terms 'arsenal' deep learning terms and theories which I believe played a huge role in my ability to even create a project. The course is just 5 weeks so a lot of information is packed in weekly, but it really is for deep learning hopefuls of all levels from the basics of Keras in machine vision or natural language processing to the intricacies underneath TensorFlow… Jon was insightful, responsive, and encouraging to his students throughout the course. He often broke down difficult theories and concepts on the whiteboard with easy to understand examples and drawings which I found very helpful. I am looking forward to more classes from him!(Hank) Ha Seon Yun on December 15, 2018

Jon's course on Deep Learning was great. It started with the basics including the background theory, then progressed to looking at concepts in different fields like computer vision, NLP, reinforcement learning, etc. It required a bit of programming experience, but not too much for those worried about their experience level. Likewise for math chops - having a basic understanding of linear algebra helps in understanding the theory, but it's not required to use it in practice. Following along in class was great, and the materials he had available for learning outside of the classroom were fantastic as well (i.e. his materials on GitHub, links from his presentations to outside materials, etc.) If Jon does a course on Intermediate/Advanced Deep Learning, or deep dives on topics within deep learning, I'll definitely be on the waiting list! Zach McCormick on December 14, 2018

Thank you to Jon Krohn for his approach to teaching the lectures and for his systematic organization of all his materials. Also, for being very attentive to the questions and trying to get back with constructive help ASAP. Alexey Malafeyev on September 18, 2018

Jon Krohn is an amazing instructor. I am a Web Engineer and have zero to little idea about Deep learning. For me to sit in class and not be intimidated by the course and fundamentals of Deep learning is a testament to Jon's teaching. The course is a really good starter kit for anyone looking to get into Deep Learning and AI in general. There is some knowledge of python that might be useful to have prior to taking this course as there are many live exercises worked on python. You will be given an opportunity to complete a project during the course which I suggest you do as it will make you apply the skills you review right after class that will make learning the concepts more enjoyable. All in all, I will 100% recommend this course for anyone who is looking to get a thorough overview of the fundamentals and philosophy of Deep Learning and its future. Deekshita Amaravadi on September 17, 2018

I highly recommend the deep learning course for anyone. Jon is the best teacher. He actively responds to your questions and teaches in an easy-to-understand way. I am very happy that I made the right decision. I started from zero and now have an application idea for my research.  Yun Wang on September 3, 2018

Jon's course serves as an excellent introduction to neural networks, Keras and TensorFlow. The course begins with Jupyter notebooks that Jon has already set up, so getting started couldn’t be easier. He proceeds to cover the most common use cases for deep learning, including image classification, text classification and image generation, striking a nice balance between the breadth of topics covered and the nuts-and-bolts of neural networks. By the end of the course you will have seen working code for a number of different types of nets, including CNNs, LSTMs, and GRUs. There are a number of ways to introduce oneself to the complex topic of deep learning—with a book, an online course, or an in-person course like Jon’s. Price, of course, is the biggest drawback to a face-to-face course like this one. In making my own decision, I decided that the distraction-free, intensive environment that an in-person course offers was worth the extra cost. In retrospect, I think I made the correct decision. Jerry Kurlandski on May 29, 2018

For those looking to break into the field of AI/Deep Learning - I highly recommend the Deep Learning course as the starting point... Building a foundational base in DL was what I was looking for from this course; and it was what this course delivered. You will touch all the core areas of DL, from feedforward neural nets to RNNs, CNNs even GANs and RL while covering applications such as computer vision and natural language processing. Most importantly, throughout the course Jon covers the nuts and bolts of each model in such a way that you can understand the theory without a PhD— all the while implementing DL models yourself in class to cement what you learn as you go. Best of all, you’ll be in a group with bright individuals as eager to learn as you. With some work and effort out of class, with this course you can go from zero to confidently building you own deep learning models within a month. Chris Urrea on May 19, 2018

Amazing introduction to Deep Learning. The course curriculum provides a solid understanding of core theoretical concepts and their practical applications. The best part of the course was that the latest papers and research (as resent as Jan 2018) were discussed by Jon who also shared his experience and best practices. Would strongly recommend the course for anyone who has some background in data-/programming-related work and wants to break into deep learning. Sudhanshu Chib on May 14, 2018

This Deep Learning Course Was a Joy. I think the course did a great job of introducing students to the deep learning landscape, helping us understand what makes deep learning techniques excel at a wide range of tasks and then diving into the code (Keras, TensorFlow) to show us how to spin up various networks (NN Regressors, NN Classifiers, Convolutional NN, RNN's, Reinforcement Learning networks, GANs). Jon is a Ph.D. neuroscientist and one thing I particularly enjoyed about the course was that Jon drew upon his background to connect the artificial neural network content with its biological inspiration. Students are encouraged to complete a deep learning capstone project for the course and there were plenty of opportunities to get valuable feedback and mentorship when we got stuck, which was great. Overall, it was time and money well spent. Michael Roman on May 10, 2018

I took the class with Jon Krohn and could not be more pleased. Jon has a rare ability to take a complicated subject and reduce it to its fundamental elements. Instead of approaching the problems with math alone, Jon spends time crafting examples and analogies to make sure students understand the actual building blocks conceptually. That produces an epiphanic experience where we were able to visualize what is happening behind the scenes. The concepts I’ve learned in this class is something I plan to apply to real-world problems and therefore highly recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn about this field. Khanan Grauer on March 20, 2018

I attended the Deep Learning course at the NY Data Science Academy that was taught by Jon Krohn during October 2017 - December 2017. Overall it was exactly what I hoped it would be. It gave me a strong foundation of all the core deep learning concepts. The class was hosted on every other saturday which allowed enough time to fully explore a particular topic between classes. Jon made a particular effort to keep the material simple and explained the concepts intuitely rather than with complicated math. Jon has great understanding of the content and is well prepared for each lesson. I thoroughly enjoyed the class and it has motivated me to pivot my career into deep learning. I would recommend this class to anyone who is passionate about deep learning but don't know where to begin. It is also great for anyone who has worked with some but not all of the deep learning techniques. — Mahipal Singareddy on February 9, 2018

Going into the course, I was slightly afraid that I would get lost in the mathematical concepts, and may not have the necessary technical know-how.  Turns out I actually had a ton of fun with this class.  Jon's class preparation goes beyond any educator I have worked with.  He is able to illustrate the complex concepts with super-easy-to-understand visulizations and/or videos.  When it came to application, he walked us through, line-by-line, all the code, and incrementally built up the complexity.  Honestly, I can't believe we were able to cover convolutional models, recurrent models, generative adversarial networks, and deep reinforcement learning in such a short time.  There was ample amount of sample code in Jupyter Notebooks to follow.  Aside from that, Jon was just super nice guy and very humble.  The course is beneficial to those that just want to learn in more detail how Artificial Intelligence can be applied, and also those that are more senior data scientists that want to add Deep Learning techniques to their tool-belt. — Richard Sheng on February 9, 2018

 

Deep Learning with TensorFlow video tutorials (72 reviews: 4.9 out of 5 stars)

Great course, very good to get started with Keras and Tensorflow! — Joachim Hagege on February 14, 2019

Very well-explained. Love his style of teaching. Many concepts need to be understood in parallel and he does it beautifully. — Bonson Sebastian Mampilli on February 4, 2019

Great! — Baku Ikhlas on February 2, 2019

This is an exceptionally well-structured and presented tutorial. I have a bit of a background in traditional machine learning, but am by no means an expert. For me this was perfect. I am looking forward to the DL for NLP tutorial by the same author. — Thilo Gotz on January 17, 2019

Great place to start learning. So many useful references. — Abhir J. on December 31, 2018

So simple. Great teaching and very well structured. It serves as a refresher or an introduction to Deep Learning. — Rangel Alvarado on December 30, 2018

Great teaching! You made deep learning so simple and easy to learn. — Amrendra Kumar on December 10, 2018

Awesome teacher! Great structure of lessons. Great exercises! Altogether, top notch. — Vuk Radovic on November 2, 2018

Thank you for your great videos, you have no idea how much they helped me to learn about Deep Learning. I was hopeless after searching for three months, but then a professor in my university sent me a link to your videos. — Ramin Saljoughi Nejad on August 23, 2018

Great lecture for beginners and easy-to-follow code. — Suraj Shrestha on August 18, 2018

[Good] value for time — Husain Zafar on July 22, 2018

In-depth coverage, but described in a way that is great for beginners. — Luke Rasmussen on June 15, 2018

Super material!— Sumana Pal on June 4, 2018

Super deep dive, with explanations that are so easy to understand. — Truong Le on May 23, 2018

Awesome lectures! — Siddarth Jain on May 13, 2018

Really good. Thanks for improving my understanding of artificial neural networks. — Sriram Nathan on May 7, 2018

Great videos... Before I took this course, I never used Keras and TensorFlow. now, I can read the code and understand what is happening. Thanks Jon. — Ryan on April 25, 2018

Very good. — Aminoosh on April 25, 2018

Best introduction I have seen for this topic. — student on March 18, 2018

Perfect to get you up and running. Great instructor. — William on March 13, 2018

Probably the best introduction course out there for Deep Learning. Really helps build the concepts from the ground up and starts with basics and covers a lot of ground into the deep. A litmus test of any good introductory course like this is to take hard-to-explain concepts and break them down into simple known concepts, which Jon does an excellent job of. He clearly knows this subject inside out and is able to bring the learner along with him in the journey. Must watch for anyone getting started from ground 0 in Deep Learning. — Neelesh on March 8, 2018

Very well explained! — Suresh Kumar Muthumal on March 2, 2018

Great step-by-step 'til you reach a good understanding for more complex architectures. — Mohamed Bahgat on February 5, 2018

Great course. — Alvaro Fuentes on January 18, 2018

Best course I've seen on Deep Learning: Explains theory very well with whiteboard and appeals to tuition; real code walking through each step; shows the process and impact of tweaking/tuning models — Brian Pfeil on December 15, 2017

The teaching was very good, content-wise and thanks a ton for putting all the code on GitHub! — Abhiram Iyenger on November 21, 2017

Very well done, the combination of whiteboard lesson and hands on code was really good. The focus of keras before going to pure tensorflow made it much easier to see the concepts. — Mats Bengtsson on November 19, 2017

Excellent - Jon has explained all the Neural Networks concepts in a very simple and easy way. Strongly recommended this course for beginners. — Vinod Basantani on November 7, 2017

I like that Jon includes all of the Docker setup in the Github site: One of the most challenging things I’ve run into is getting all of the many software packages working together. The Docker approach makes this much simpler. I’m looking forward to more, deeper (no pun intended) courses from Jon.— wjk5828 on October 31, 2017

Both just enough theory and lots of it. Really opens the world of machine learning for the student. Great work!— Nickolas Nikolic on October 23, 2017

Great course! Very well presented and explained! — P. Kovacs on September 10, 2017

Loved it. Look forward to more courses coming up from Jon. — Denzil Sequeira on August 25, 2017

I took this course as a refresher, but I still found the fundamentals to be explained in the best and simplest way. — Srinivas Rangu on August 19, 2017

Great course and great delivery. The material was definitely well presented by Dr. Krohn in a way that anyone can understand. I really like the way that all supplemental information is also available at GitHub. This really helps with hands-on learning. Kudos to Dr. Krohn!— Omar Santos on August 11, 2017

Thanks a bunch for the wonderful material presented exceptionally well, Dr. Krohn. — Basab Dattaray on August 7, 2017

Really good videos! Thank you Jon! — Fabio Salvi on July 31, 2017

 

Deep Learning for Natural Language Processing video tutorials (22 reviews: 5.0 out of 5 stars)

Very well-explained. Love his style of teaching. — Bonson Sebastian Manpilli on February 4, 2019

Extremely practical! — Itay Kaufman on January 23, 2019

Another very good tutorial. Excellent introduction to word vectors. — Thilo Gotz on January 23, 2019

Very informative and this tutorial has a lot of useful references for further reading. The blog post is also very helpful. The codebase is nicely commented and a good place to start from. — Abhir J. on December 31, 2018

I finished watching your first videos on TensorFlow for beginners a week ago and now I'm watching your NLP videos! They are great. Before your videos I had no idea how it works, and now I understand what I should do! I should also mention that the Word2Vec method never been explained better by anyone else! — Ramin Saljoughi Nejad on August 27, 2018

Awesome sessions!!!! — Sumana Pal on June 6, 2018

Helped me a lot with my bachelor [degree] thesis! — Paul Da Wiese on April 3, 2018

This is a really good course. — Jaya Krishna on March 18, 2018

Excellent delivery and content! — student on March 18, 2018

Great course!!! — student on December 18, 2017

Enjoyed going through the NLP series. Very well structured and clearly presented. Many thanks and looking forward to new ones. — Aliya Ibragimova on December 8, 2017

Another excellent series of lectures on state of the art practices in deep learning, geared toward NLP. Dr. Jon Krohn has a gift for explaining complex concepts extremely well, backing up the theory with concrete examples using Keras. Really hoping there is more to come. Many thanks Dr. Krohn! — Basab Dattaray on November 20, 2017

 

Deep Reinforcement Learning and GANs video tutorials (15 reviews: 5.0 out of 5 stars)

Great. — Rangel Alvarado on December 31, 2018

Amazing instructor, love his tutorials. — Kim on June 13, 2018

Learnt a lot from this amazing course! Thanks. — Siddarth Jain on May 13, 2018

Very good and clear explanations. I wish this course was longer. — Thanos on March 24, 2018

These videos contain the clearest explanation on the intuition behind GANs... Enjoyed the detailed coverage on Deep Q-Learning. — student on February 23, 2018